Big moments in Rachmaninov

I can’t really say that I am switching gears away from my series on Emotion in Classical Music, because a series on Rachmaninov demonstrates a wide spectrum of emotions.

RachmaninovUntil I find time to write in-depth about Rachmaninov’s music, here is a clip to tide you over. It is from the first movement of his second symphony.

I am a sucker for big orchestral moments. I love the raw power, the intensity, and the feeling of tingling down my spine and hairs raised on my neck. Is that wrong?

What is the feeling you get when you hear this clip? Does this clip remind you of a movie scene? If so, which one? I think it would make an excellent soundtrack to many, really.

Leave a Reply

